Located near Greeneville, the center comprises 75 acres and can accommodate up to 336 individuals any time during the year.
This center traces its roots to 1935, when approximately 55 children camped at the Research and Education Center in Greeneville (formerly Tobacco Experiment Station) located near the site of the current center. They slept in barns and swam in the creek.
In 1947 tobacco warehouse operator Clyde Austin led a movement to establish a permanent 4-H camp and donated 23.5 acres as the site. The first camp was held in 1948 after a campaign raised funds to complete construction. Additionally, other land was purchased, and Clyde Austin’s son, Clyde, donated 4.6 acres. This land, developed as an environmental study area and wetland, allowed the implementation in 2001 of Camp Explore, a camp environmental in character.